Darwin Cricket League T20: Schedule, Timings, Venue, Teams and all details about the match

cricket darwin university presents Top end T20 league 2020,Latest cricket league after lockdown,covid-19 and cricket series
Img source- www.gettyimages.in

There is so much chaos in the world right now due to the present COVID-19 pandemic but there is no stopping for sports like cricket and football. Amidst the global health crisis, cricket is all set to resume in different countries.

First, we saw local leagues like VPL(Vincy Premier League) from the West Indies and Ventantu Blast League(VBL) started Republic of Vanuatu, South Pacific Ocean. Now cricket is all set to re-start in Australia.

Cricket will resume in the Northern Territory, Darwin of Australia with Charles Darwin University Top End T20 tournament. The series will start from Saturday 6th June 2020 to Sunday, 8th June 2020. The matches will be played at Marrara Cricket Ground, Gardens Oval and Cazaly’s Oval. Its a round-robin tournament and a total of 15 matches will be played in three days.

The entry of the Fans into the Darwin stadium

The Northern Territory has not conceived any active COVID-19 cases since 21 May 2020. They will move to “Stage 3” restrictions on Friday. Due to this, the authorities have allowed 500 spectators into the stadium. Its is good news for the cricketing fans. The fans can now cheer their favourite players which will further boost their confidence.

cricket all set to resume in australia,darwin EDU Top end t20 series 2020,match details,schedule,timings and all other information.
Marrara Ground, Darwin Australia Img Source- gettyimages.in

Teams Info

EDU Top End T20 series will feature seven Darwin Premier Grade Clubs. The eight-team is known as the Invitational XI made up of the best players from NT Asia Cup. It is a competition played between the locals within the Asian community in Australia.

Eight teams which will feature in the tournament are –

  1. Palmerstone Cricket Club
  2. Darwin Cricket Club
  3. Pint Cricket Club INC
  4. Southern District Cricket Club “The Crocodiles”
  5. Waratah Cricket Club
  6. Nightcliff Cricket Club
  7. Tracy Village Cricket Club
  8. Invitational XI

Live Streaming of the Darwin Matches

The live streaming of the CDU Top End T20 series will be available on My Cricket Facebook page.

New Rules for the Darwin Series

To keep safety in mind, no sweat or saliva will be used during the match to shine the ball. However, the decision to use artificial wax applicator instead of sweat or saliva is yet under progress.

Darwin Cricket T20 League: Match Schedule and Timings(IST)

6th June 2020, Saturday

Waratah vs Nightcliff(5:30 AM)

Palmerston vs Darwin(5:30 AM)

Southern Districts vs Tracy Village(5:30 AM)

PINT vs Invitational XI(10:00 PM)

Southern Districts vs Palmerston(10:00 PM)

Tracy Village vs Darwin(10:00 PM)

7th June 2020, Sunday

Nightcliff vs Invitational XI(5:30 Am)

Gardens Oval PINT vs Waratah(5:30 Am)

Southern Districts vs Darwin(5:30 Am)

Palmerston vs Tracy Village(10:00 PM)

Waratah vs Invitational XI(10:00 PM)

PINT vs Nightcliff(10:00 PM)

8th June 2020, Sunday

Semifinal 1 (5:30 AM)

Semifinal 2 ( 5:30 AM)


Darwin History and Facts

It last hosted a One day International series between Australia and Bangladesh back in 2008

In the T20 strike league 2018 edition, David Warner and Cameron Bancroft were also the part of the tournament. Because of the Sandpaper Scandal incident, they were banned to play the league.

Weather Report

There will be clear sky with bright sunshine and therefore its is a perfect time to resume match proceeding in Darwin.

Venue details

Capacity15,000 (5,000 seated)
EndsMcMillans Road End, Airport End
LocationDarwin, Australia
Time ZoneUTC +09:30
Home toNorthern Territory
Other Sports it is home toAustralian Rules Football