CPL 2020 starts from 18 August-Schedule, Squad, Draft, Player list

CPL 2020 news,schedule,squad,player list,draft,date
CPL 2020 confirmed from 18 August to 10 september

There is some good news coming up for the cricket fans as West Indies Cricket confirms CPL 2020.

After waiting for so long due to COVID-19 outbreak, cricket finally returns with the first T20 league.

International Test cricket has already begun between the England and West Indies.

Hero CPL 2020 league will be played in Trinidad and Tobago for the whole season. It was decided after getting the green signal from Trinidad and Tobago government.

The famous Carribean league will start from 18 August 2020 Tuesday to 10 September 2020 Thurday.

Big players like Alex Hales, Rashid Khan, Kieron Pollard, Carlos Brathwaite, Dwayne Bravo are all set to take part.

1/ CPL 2020 Guidelines

The Trinidad & Tobago Ministry of Health  and CPL’s own board of medical advisors have created protocols for the league.

It is done to reduce the COVID-19 risks among the local players as well as the overseas players.

All teams and officials will stay in a single hotel and everyone have to follow strict COVID-19 protocols for first two weeks.

Players travelling from overseas will go under testing before departure and arrival in the Trinidad.

Team and officials will live as the “households” where they have to maintain social distancing.

There are small clusters in each household where the players and the officials can have social meetings.

However, if any member in the cluster displays any signs of COVID-19 at any time during the tournament then the whole cluster will be self- isolated for 14 day from the time that the member of the cluster shows symptoms.

All members of the CPL will go under regular temperature checkups and retested for the virus throughout their stay.

2/ CPL 2020 – The Most Awaited League

CPL is the most exciting league because of the West Indies players. They have some of the biggest hitters in T20 history.

Pete Russell, COO of Hero CPL, says,’We would like to express our gratitude and thanks to The Hon. Dr. Keith Rowley, Prime Minister of Trinidad & Tobago, The Hon. Shamfa Cudjoe, Minister for Sport and Youth Affairs, The Hon. Terrence Deyalsingh, Minister for Health, Dr. Roshan Parasram, Chief Medical Officer for Trinidad & Tobago, Douglas Camacho, Chairman of Sport TT and their respective ministries and organisations for their support and guidance in making this all possible.

“We are really excited to bring high class cricket to the Caribbean and to the rest of the world. The standard of players involved in this year’s tournament will be higher than ever and we can’t wait to get the tournament under way.” 

3/ CPL T20 Draft

The franchises have selected their teams which will play in the Caribbean Premier League(CPL).

Six teams that will play in the tournament are –

Trinbago Knight Riders have signed Praveen Tambe,the first Indian to play foreign franchise league.They have also brought back Australian spinner Fawad Ahmed. TLR have also signed Zimbabwe batsman Sikandar Raza and New Zealand wicketkeeper Tim Seifert.

Jamaica Tallahwas had a poor tournament in 2019. This year they have picked some exciting players in their team. They have bought Nepalese spinner Sandeep Lamichhane and South African spinner Tabraiz Shamsi. Carlos Brathwaite will play for JT this year.They have also picked Pakistani all-rounder Asif Ali.Retained players like Glen Phillips, Andre Russell, Oshane Thomas, Rovman Powell will definitely make a strong combination this year.

The defending champions Barbados Tridents have retained most of their players. They have brought Rashid Khan the spin King in their side. Australian All-rounder Marcus Stoinis will also play for Barbados. BT has also signed English opener Alex Hales. The other retained overseas players are Harry Gurney and Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

Guyana Amazon had a wonderful tournament last year. They won all their matches but lost in the final. Because of their stunning performance, the officials have retained 13 players. They have added Ross Taylor and Afghani Naveen-ul-Haq.

ST Kitts and Nevis Patriots have brought Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodi and Rassie Van der Dussen to their team.Apart from them they have added two australians in the names of Chris Lynn and Ben Dunk.Some of their retaining players are Fabian Allen, Rayad Emrit, Evin Lewis and Sheldon Cottrell.

St Lucia Zouks have signed two South Africans Rilee Rossouw and Anrich Nortje. They have also added Mohammad Nabi, Chemar Holder, Noor Ahmed, Kimani Melius, Saad Bin Zafar.

4/ Team Squads/Player List

Barbados Tridents — Rashid Khan, Jason Holder, Marcus Stoinis, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Jhonson Charles, Shai Hope, Hayden Walsh Jr, Ashley Nurse, Jonathan Carter, Raymon Reifer, Kyle Mayers, Kyle Mayers, Joshua Bishop, Nyeem Young, Justin Greaves, R Gurbaz, Shayan Jahangir.

Guyana Amazon Warriors – Imran Tahir, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Ross Taylor, Shimron Hetmyer, Chris Green, Qais Ahmed, Keemo Paul, S Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Naveen ul Haq, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Kevin Sinclair, Ashmeade Nedd, Odean Smith, Anthony Bramble, Jasdeep Singh.

St Kitts And Nevis Patriots – Chris Lynn, Ben Dunk, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, R Van der Dussen, Sohail Tanvir, Ish Sodhi, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Rayad Emrit, Dennis Bulli, Alzarri Joseph, Joshua De Silva, Dominic Drakes, Colin Archibald, Jon Russ Jaggesar, Sunny Sohal.

Jamaica Tallawahs – Andre Russell, S Lamichhane, Carlos Brathwaite, Rovman Powell, Tabraiz Shamsi, Glenn Phillips, Chadwick Walton, Oshane Thomas, Asif Ali, Fidel Edwards, Preston Mcsween, Andre Mccarthy, Nicholas Kirton, Jeavor Royal, Nkrumah Bonner, V Permaul, Ryan Persaud.

St Lucia Zouks– Rilee Rossouw, Mohammad Nabi, Daren Sammy, Colin Ingram, Andre Fletcher, Kesrick Williams, Anrich Nortje, Chemar Holder, Obed McCoy, Rakheem Cornwall, Mark Deyal, Noor Ahmed, Kimani Melius, Leniko Boucher, Kavem Hodge, Javelle Glen, Saad Bin Zafar.

Trinbago Knight Riders – Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Darren Bravo, Lendl Simmons, Khary Pierre, Tim Seifert, Sikandar Raza, Anderson Phillip, Pravin Tambe, Jayden Seales, Amir Jangoo, Tion Webster, Akeal Hosein, Muhammad Ali Khan.

4/ Chris Gayle not part of CPL 2020

There is some bad news for Chris Gayle fans as he will not play in CPL this year.

He was a part of Jamaica Tallawahs team last year and had a wonderful tournament with the bat.

He opted out from the tournament a day before the list is scheduled to take place.

5/ Summary

  • Carribean Premier League(CPL) is confirmed.
  • CPL will start from 18 August to 10 September.
  • Big players like Rashid Khan, Alex Hales, Marcus Stoinis will play in the tournament.
  • Players have to play Strict Protocols due to COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Trinidad and Tobago will host the CPL 2020.
  • Chris Gayle will not play in the league due to personal reasons.

Updated: July 11, 2020 — 1:26 pm